Skip to main content

International Fees

Fees shown for programmes are for the upcoming intake. They are per year or the period of the programme if it is less than one year.

The amounts shown for international students in the listings are NZ$.

To obtain a student visa the study fees must be paid by the due date shown on your invoice. You will then be sent an official receipt that is required by Immigration New Zealand before you can obtain your visa.

Due to immigration restrictions, international students are ineligible for some of the qualifications that we offer. View the fees for mainstream programmes open to international students.

For a full list of student fees see our Fees

Budgeting for your expenses

To work out how much it costs to study at Ara for one year, you need to consider the following items. All costs shown are in New Zealand dollars.

Costs are a guide only and may be subject to change.

Download the cost calculator

Dates and fees

Course

Duration

Start Date

Fees

Administration fee

 

 

$250

Intensive English (and) Intensive IELTS Exam Preparation

(IELTS Exam fee not included)

Minimum 4 weeks

Intake every week

(Starts Mon 6 Jan, finishes Fri 18 Dec)

 

$390 per week

English plus Volunteer Work

8 weeks

Flexible

$3,120

Work placement fee

 

 

$275

 

NZCEL (NZ Certificate in English Language) Level 3, 4 and 5

2020:

Level 3
Level 3 Applied
Level 4
Level 5

 

 

10 Feb, 20 Jul
10 Feb, 20 Jul, 21 Sep
10 Feb, 20 Jul, 21 Sep
10 Feb, 20 Jul

$7,985 per semester

 

CELTA

4 weeks

2 - 27 March 2020
3 - 28 August 2020

$5,068

 

Student Services Levy (English courses)

   

$8 per week

 Medical and Travel Insurance

Duration

Fees

4 weeks

$52.40

8 weeks

$104.80

12 weeks

$157.20

16 weeks

$209.60

20 weeks

$262.00

24 weeks

$314.40

28 weeks

$366.80

32 weeks

$419.20

36 weeks

$471.60

40 weeks

$524.00

44 weeks

$576.40

48 weeks

$628.80

52 weeks

$681.20

Full academic year

$523.50

Accommodation

Homestay

Christchurch

Timaru

Placement Fee

$320

$320

Pick up from Christchurch International Airport and transfer to homestay (in Christchurch)

included

$50 (one way)

Homestay Fee - (includes two meals on weekdays and three meals on the weekend)

$266 per week

 

Homestay Fee - (includes three meals everyday)

$296 per week

$280 per week

 

min 4 weeks

min 2 weeks

Exam fees

Exam

Fees

IELTS Exam

$385

Pearson Test of English exam

$385

Transportation

Bus fare

Christchurch

Timaru

Metrocard - unlimited travel

$106 per month

$64 per month

Metrocard - weekly maximum

$26.50 per week

$16 per week

Metrocard - one trip

$2.65 per ride

$1.60 per ride

Cash fare - one trip

$4.20 per ride

$2.40 per ride

Other fees

Student Services Levy (mainstream programmes)

$320 per year

Student Visa application/renewal (incl. International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy, 1 July 2019)

$255

Student carpark (Chch city campus only)

$5.00 per day

Student carpark

(Chch city campus only)

$2.50 per hour

Secure bicycle parking

Free

Public Holidays (2020)

Holiday

Date

New Years Day

Wednesday 1 January

Day After New Year

Thursday 2 January

Waitangi Day

Thursday 6 February

Good Friday

Friday 10 April

Easter Monday

Monday 13 April

ANZAC Day

Monday 27 April

Queen’s Birthday

Monday 1 June

South Canterbury Anniversary Day

Monday 28 September

Labour Day

Monday 26 October

Canterbury Anniversary Day

Friday 13 November

Christmas Day

Friday 25 December

Boxing Day

Saturday 26 December

Other Important Dates (2020)

Important Dates

Date

Campus reopens 2020

Monday 6 January

Timaru Graduation

Thursday 13 February

Autumn Graduation (Christchurch)

Friday 27 March

Daylight savings end

Sunday 5 April

Campus closed

Tuesday 14 April

Spring Graduation (Christchurch)

Friday 18 September

Daylight savings starts

Sunday 27 September

Campus closes

Wednesday 23 December

 

Contact details

Phone: 03 940 8389
International: +64 3 940 8000
Email: international@ara.ac.nz

Ara International Facebook >

Ara WeChat >
扫码关注Ara官方微信公众号
Or use the QR code below
AraQr.jpg